The View from Here


Return of the Ivory Bills
March 11, 2009, 4:12 pm
Filed under: Adventures, Ivory-Billed Woopeckers

Next week we’re off to the Choctahatchee River of northern Florida to look for Ivory Billed Woodpeckers again.
I’m amazed at some of the venomous criticism that was published about our sighting last year. We never claimed we had proof of live Ivory Bills. Eyewitness accounts just don’t count. That said, I am 100% certain that I saw one. It was “right in my face,” (about 15 feet away) and although I am only a casual birder, any observant person with a field guide would have come to the same conclusion. I feel that skeptics provide a very important function, but the fevered nature of their criticism makes me wonder if they have a stake in Ivory Bills remaining “extinct.” The stake is likely the preservation of their own reputations, which they have placed firmly in the extinct camp.
Seeing another Ivory Bill and getting a chance to redeem myself by getting the picture this time is so unlikely that I dare not even hope for it. I know very experienced birders that have searched for years for this bird without success. That I got to see one last year was a combination of being in the right place at the right time, with a huge portion of dumb luck. If I had simply been facing the other direction, I would have missed the bird entirely. Let’s hope I get luckier this time.

Scroll to the bottom of this blog to see the account of my sighting last year near the Choctahatchee River.

This is the spot we called "Sally's Point," where Sally Wolliver caught sight of the same IBW that I saw. I painted this on our last day there.

This is the spot we called "Sally's Point," where Sally Wolliver caught sight of the same IBW that I saw. I painted this on our last day there.

Morning mist on Bruce Creek on the day I saw an Ivory Bill.

Morning mist on Bruce Creek on the day I saw an Ivory Bill.
1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

Your site came up in our google alert for ivory-bills. Pls. feel welcome to visit our blog and request a newsletter, The Kent.

Comment by norma harrison




Leave a Reply

