The View from Here


Ivory-Bill!
April 15, 2009, 8:59 am
Filed under: Art News, Ivory-Billed Woopeckers

A little over a year ago, I was incredibly lucky and got to see an Ivory-Billed Woodpecker as it passed almost directly over my head while I sat in a Kayak near Bruce Creek in northern Florida.  Mind you, this was my first attempt to find an Ivory-Bill, and it happened less than 24 hours after I arrived in the area.  Is that lucky or what? I know people who have searched for years without seeing one.  Of course, I had to share this experience, and the best way for me to do that is through my artwork (I missed getting the photo).  The painting captures not only the bird, but the incredible setting in which I had this experience.  A misty morning, the rising sun illuminating ancient cypress, the distant calls of Barred Owls, and then… “Ivory-Bill!”

I now have made available giclee canvas prints of my painting, “Ivory-Bill!”  My plan is to donate 20% of the proceeds to Geoff Hill’s Ivory-Bill research project.  The 16×20 canvas print is mounted on wooden stretchers, coated, signed & numbered by the artist (me!), in an edition of 250. Number one has been sold, number 2 is available for you.  See my art website, http://www.johnnagnew.com  for price and ordering details. I will attempt to keep this blog updated as to which print number is currently available.

ivorybillweb1
2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

how much?

Comment by norma

Prints are $250 (plus $8 S&H). They are a canvas giclee limited edition of 250, signed and numbered. See my website at http://www.johnnagnew.com
If you are interested in the original, email me at johnagnew@fuse.net

Comment by herps2art




Leave a Reply

