The View from Here


Artist In Residence, Pictured Rocks National Lakeshore, Sept. 3-23, 2009
July 31, 2009, 9:28 pm
Filed under: Art News

I was honored to be chosen as this year’s Artist In Residence at Pictured Rocks National Lakeshore, on the Upper Peninsula of Michigan. I’ll be there September 3-23. If you’re in the neighborhood, pay me a visit. I’ll be painting at various places around the park. At the end of my stay I’ll do a talk about my work and travels, and I’ll have a show of the paintings I do in the park (Sept. 23rd, 7PM, @ park visitor center).  Of course, I’ll post some blog entries while I’m there… if I can find wi-fi!
Pictured Rocks is one of my favorite spots (See “Chillin’ On The North Shore,” February, 2009), and has inspired lots of paintings. The masthead of this blog is a painting of the lakeshore at PR.  Here are a few more:

"Little Beaver Lake" 11 x 14 acrylic on panel (plein air)

"Little Beaver Lake" 11 x 14 acrylic on panel (plein air)

"Superior Beach" 6 x 10 acrylic on panel

"Superior Beach" 5 x 11 acrylic on panel

"Beach Pebbles"  10 x 10, acrylic on panel

"Beach Pebbles" 10 x 10, acrylic on panel

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

I love pebbles and photographing them. These are just fantastic images of truly beautiful examples. Incredible.

Comment by winderjssc




Leave a Reply

